Author: Ronald H. Balson, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 405, Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin, ISBN: 9781466872868

From Ronald H. Balson, author of Once We Were Brothers, Saving Sophie is the powerful story of the lengths a father will go through to protect his daughter and an action-packed thriller that will take you on an unforgettable journey of murder and deception, testing the bonds of family and love. Jack Sommers was just an ordinary accountant from Chicago. That is, until his wife passed away, his young daughter was kidnapped, and he became the main suspect in an $88 million dollar embezzlement case. Now, Jack is on the run, hoping to avoid the feds long enough to rescue his daughter, Sophie, from her maternal grandfather, a suspected terrorist in Palestine. With the help of the investigative team who first appeared in Once We Were Brothers, Liam and Catherine, and a new CIA operative, a secret mission is launched to not only rescue Sophie, but also to thwart a major terrorist attack in Hebron. But will being caught in the crossfires of the Palestine-Israeli conflict keep their team from accomplishing the task at hand, or can they overcome the odds and save countless lives, including their own?

Author: Sam Carrington, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 400, Publisher: HarperCollins UK, ISBN: 9780008191863

‘This book is not only gripping, but it ends with a gasp-out-loud twist’ Closer ‘Tense, convincing ... kept me guessing’ Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Author: Ronald H. Balson, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 400, Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin, ISBN: 9781466846708

The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. "A novel of survival, justice and redemption...riveting." —Chicago Tribune, on Once We Were Brothers Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist, is attending a fundraiser when he is suddenly accosted and accused of being a former Nazi SS officer named Otto Piatek, the Butcher of Zamosc. Although the charges are denounced as preposterous, his accuser is convinced he is right and engages attorney Catherine Lockhart to bring Rosenzweig to justice. Solomon persuades attorney Catherine Lockhart to take his case, revealing that the true Piatek was abandoned as a child and raised by Solomon's own family only to betray them during the Nazi occupation. But has Solomon accused the right man? Once We Were Brothers is Ronald H. Balson's compelling tale of two boys and a family who struggle to survive in war-torn Poland, and a young love that struggles to endure the unspeakable cruelty of the Holocaust. Two lives, two worlds, and sixty years converge in an explosive race to redemption that makes for a moving and powerful tale of love, survival, and ultimately the triumph of the human spirit.

Author: Fleur Hitchcock, Genre: Juvenile Fiction, Total Page: 272, Publisher: Nosy Crow, ISBN: 9780857631756

If Lottie's parents were normal instead of weirdos, she'd never have met Sophia. And she'd never have made that promise. Or run away in a kayak, stolen some beetroot and pretended to be a Star Wars fan. None of the scarier stuff would have happened either. Lottie just wanted to be a hero. She had no idea it would be so dangerous.

Author: Debbie Schrack, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 329, Publisher: Fire & Ice Young Adult Books, ISBN: 9781955784870

Seventeen-year-old Gabe Hunter knows he has a purpose in life. He has always strived to be the “best of the best,” but lately nothing has gone his way. Gabe was devastated six months earlier when his half-brother Josh had a drunk driving accident that killed four members of a family and left a sixteen-year-old girl named Sophie an orphan. Josh went to prison and Gabe struggles to forgive him because how can he forgive the unforgivable? When Gabe reluctantly agrees to do math tutoring for his senior service project, he discovers that the girl he will be tutoring is also named Sophie. But in a town of eighty thousand people, what are the odds it will be the same person? Astronomical, Gabe figures. Gabe soon discovers, though, that it is the same Sophie. A former National Merit Scholar finalist, Sophie had a severe brain injury in the accident. She has seizures, amnesia, and can barely read or write. When he meets her, Gabe realizes what his purpose in life must be—to help Sophie and make amends for his brother. His plan is to spend the rest of the school year tutoring Sophie, then say goodbye and go quietly off to college without ever telling her that his brother was the one who killed her family. What Gabe doesn’t count on is falling in love.

Author: Cate Beauman, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 435, Publisher: Cate Beauman, ISBN: 9780989569668

*READERS CROWN AWARD WINNER *Readers' Favorite International Book Award Silver Medalist *National Excellence In Romance Fiction Award Finalist Eventually, he will find you... Jewelry designer Sophie Burke has fled Maine for the anonymity of the big city. She’s starting over with a job she tolerates and a grungy motel room she calls home on the wrong side of town, but anything is better than the nightmare she left behind. Stone McCabe is Ethan Cooke Security’s brooding bad boy more interested in keeping to himself than anything else—until the gorgeous blond with haunted violet eyes catches his attention late one rainy night. Stone reluctantly gives Sophie a hand only to quickly realize that the shy beauty with the soft voice and pretty smile has something to hide. Tangled up in her secrets, Stone offers Sophie a solution that has the potential to free her from her problems once and for all—or jeopardize both of their lives.

Author: Marie Kelly, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: , Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc, ISBN: 9781312890220

When Sophie Lawrence finds herself under suspicion of a vicious murder she has her already upside-down life turned inside-out. With so many changes in so short a time, she must decide who to turn to for help. Will it be her recently found brother, who might have secrets of his own, or the detective whom she just cannot seem to forget and who betrayed her in the worst possible way – or did he? With so many twists and turns she must learn to trust and perhaps she will find her happy-ever-after. Cam Doyle is a seasoned detective. He has seen it all and had to put up with those who would seek to find ways around the justice system. When the beautiful Sophie turns up, another woman trying to beat the system, he is bowled over by her, never truly able to put her out of his mind, and when she needs his help, like a white knight he finds himself sacrificing everything for her. But Cam is a realist. He understands that what they have is fleeting, that he is a cop and she a star.

Author: Sophie Kinsella, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 448, Publisher: Dial Press, ISBN: 9781524799014

"An irresistible story of love and empowerment about a young woman with a complicated family, a handsome man who might be "the one," and an IOU that changes everything. Fixie Farr has always lived by her father's motto: "Family first." But ever since her dad passed away, leaving his charming kitchen supply store in the hands of his children, Fixie spends all her time picking up the slack from her siblings instead of striking out on her own. The way Fixie sees it, if she doesn't take care of her father's legacy, who will?"

Author: Ronald H. Balson, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 320, Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin, ISBN: 9781250089052

In the tradition of The Nightingale, Sarah's Key, and Lilac Girls, comes a saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to return to Poland and fulfill a promise, from Ronald H. Balson, author of the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers. ~~ “Readers who crave more books like Balson’s Once We Were Brothers and Kristin Hannah’s bestselling The Nightingale will be enthralled by Karolina’s Twins.” —Booklist (starred review) "A heart-wrenching but ultimately triumphant story." —Chicago Tribune ~~ She made a promise in desperation Now it's time to keep it Lena Woodward, elegant and poised, has lived a comfortable life among Chicago Society since she immigrated to the US and began a new life at the end of World War II. But now something has resurfaced that Lena cannot ignore: an unfulfilled promise she made long ago that can no longer stay buried. Driven to renew the quest that still keeps her awake at night, Lena enlists the help of lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart. Behind Lena’s stoic facade are memories that will no longer be contained. She begins to recount a tale, harkening back to her harrowing past in Nazi-occupied Poland, of the bond she shared with her childhood friend Karolina. Karolina was vivacious and beautiful, athletic and charismatic, and Lena has cherished the memory of their friendship her whole life. But there is something about the story that is unfinished, questions that must be answered about what is true and what is not, and what Lena is willing to risk to uncover the past. Has the real story been hidden these many years? And if so, why? Two girls, coming of age in a dangerous time, bearers of secrets that only they could share. Just when you think there could not be anything new to ferret out from World War II comes Karolina's Twins, a spellbinding new novel by the bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers and Saving Sophie. In this richly woven tale of love, survival and resilience during some of the darkest hours, the unbreakable bond between girlhood friends will have consequences into the future and beyond.

Author: Jostein Gaarder, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 544, Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, ISBN: 9781466804272

One day Sophie comes home from school to find two questions in her mail: "Who are you?" and "Where does the world come from?" Before she knows it she is enrolled in a correspondence course with a mysterious philosopher. Thus begins Jostein Gaarder's unique novel, which is not only a mystery, but also a complete and entertaining history of philosophy.