Author: Alfred J. Andrea, Genre: History, Total Page: 576, Publisher: Cengage Learning, ISBN: 9781133420040

THE HUMAN RECORD is the leading primary source reader for the World History course, providing balanced coverage of the global past. are often paired or grouped together for comparison. A prologue entitled Primary Sources and How to Read Them appears in each volume and serves as a valuable pedagogical tool. Approximately one-third of the sources in the Seventh Edition are new, and these documents continue to reflect the myriad experiences of the peoples of the world. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Author: Alfred J. Andrea, Genre: History, Total Page: 528, Publisher: Houghton Mifflin College Division, ISBN: 0618751106

[This is] a source collection that traces the course of human history from the rise of the earliest civilizations to the present. [This book] follows the evolution of cultures that most significantly influenced the history of the world from around 3500 B.C.E. to 1700 C.E., with emphasis on the development of the major social, religious, intellectual, and political traditions of the societies that flourished in Eurasia and Africa. -Pref.

Author: Bart Crabb, Genre: Sports & Recreation, Total Page: 192, Publisher: ProStar Publications, ISBN: 1577850165

Bart Crabb's "The Quest for the World Record Bass" includes profiles on the individual states that stock the Florida Largemouth Bass, along with their stocking programs and State Record catches. There is also a summary of lakes for the individual states that have the potential to land a world, state or line classification record. Additional topics include rules and regulations, biological information, interviews with bass anglers who have caught as many as 50 bass over 12 pounds and an explanation of why the big lure concept works. This book contains numerous photos of bass, a fully documented list of the "Top 25 Bass" of all time and tips to give every fisherman a fighting chance to catch the World Record.

Author: Joseph Miller, Genre: History, Total Page: 499, Publisher: Lulu.com, ISBN: 9781300029328

This book attempts to define the issues that face us in trying to understand the often-overwhelming complexity of the human experience. It is intellectually challenging, broad in its scope, richly detailed, and densely argued. It is the first in a projected series of five volumes in which the author will seek to touch on every aspect of human historical reality and all the multitudinous variables that have shaped it.

Author: Alfred J. Andrea, Genre: History, Total Page: 450, Publisher: Houghton Mifflin School, ISBN: NWU:35556038934576

Author: Alfred J. Andrea, Genre: History, Total Page: 464, Publisher: Cengage Learning, ISBN: 9781133420033

THE HUMAN RECORD is the leading primary source reader for the World History course, providing balanced coverage of the global past. Each volume contains a blend of visual and textual sources which are often paired or grouped together for comparison. A prologue entitled Primary Sources and How to Read Them appears in each volume and serves as a valuable pedagogical tool. Approximately one-third of the sources in the Seventh Edition are new, and these documents continue to reflect the myriad experiences of the peoples of the world. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Author: David Graeber, Genre: Social Science, Total Page: 704, Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, ISBN: 9780374721107

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A dramatically new understanding of human history, challenging our most fundamental assumptions about social evolution—from the development of agriculture and cities to the origins of the state, democracy, and inequality—and revealing new possibilities for human emancipation. For generations, our remote ancestors have been cast as primitive and childlike—either free and equal innocents, or thuggish and warlike. Civilization, we are told, could be achieved only by sacrificing those original freedoms or, alternatively, by taming our baser instincts. David Graeber and David Wengrow show how such theories first emerged in the eighteenth century as a conservative reaction to powerful critiques of European society posed by Indigenous observers and intellectuals. Revisiting this encounter has startling implications for how we make sense of human history today, including the origins of farming, property, cities, democracy, slavery, and civilization itself. Drawing on pathbreaking research in archaeology and anthropology, the authors show how history becomes a far more interesting place once we learn to throw off our conceptual shackles and perceive what’s really there. If humans did not spend 95 percent of their evolutionary past in tiny bands of hunter-gatherers, what were they doing all that time? If agriculture, and cities, did not mean a plunge into hierarchy and domination, then what kinds of social and economic organization did they lead to? The answers are often unexpected, and suggest that the course of human history may be less set in stone, and more full of playful, hopeful possibilities, than we tend to assume. The Dawn of Everything fundamentally transforms our understanding of the human past and offers a path toward imagining new forms of freedom, new ways of organizing society. This is a monumental book of formidable intellectual range, animated by curiosity, moral vision, and a faith in the power of direct action. Includes Black-and-White Illustrations

Author: , Genre: Curiosities and wonders, Total Page: 704, Publisher: , ISBN: 0806901322

Author: Alfred J. Andrea, Genre: History, Total Page: 596, Publisher: Houghton Mifflin College Division, ISBN: STANFORD:36105113030451

Unlike some other world history texts that center on the West, The Human Record provides balanced coverage of the global past. The book features both written and artifactual sources that are placed in their full historical contexts through introductory essays, footnotes, and focus questions. The text sheds light on the experiences of women and non-elite groups while maintaining overall balance and a focus on the major patterns of global historical developments through the ages.

Author: Yuval Noah Harari, Genre: History, Total Page: 512, Publisher: Signal, ISBN: 9780771038525

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.