Author: , Genre: , Total Page: , Publisher: , ISBN: 1524400408

Author: Shaenon K. Garrity, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 224, Publisher: Simon and Schuster, ISBN: 9781534460881

Nimona meets Paper Girls with a literary twist in this wickedly funny graphic novel about a teenager who is swept up in a strange new universe and must save it from an all-consuming evil in order to return home. One dark and stormy night, Haley sees a stranger drowning in the river. Since her greatest passion is Gothic romance novels, she knows her moment has come. But when Haley leaps into the water to rescue the stranger, she awakens in Willowweep. It certainly looks like the setting of one of her favorite books: A stately manor. A sinister housekeeper. Three brooding brothers. There’s even a ghost. Except Willowweep is not what it seems. Its romantic exterior hides the workings of a pocket universe—the only protection our world has against a great force of penultimate evil, and its defenses are crumbling. Could cruel fate make Haley the heroine that Willowweep needs?

Author: T. A. Landers, Genre: Pets, Total Page: 303, Publisher: Eclipse Press, ISBN: 1581501358

Taking care of a racehorse involves many facets - from keeping the horse happy to recognizing any signs of lameness to knowing how to muck a stall. Author T.A. Landers, a former master groom turned trainer, breaks down all aspects of racehorse care in a clear, concise, and comprehensive manner that will leave the reader with more confidence in handling these magnificent animals. Professional Care of the Racehorse provides photographs and detailed explanations of grooming, feeding, restraining, tacking, and handling racehorses. The book also explains the necessary equipment and its proper use and care. All of this thrown in together with a few tips on horse psychology makes it an excellent resource for anyone who works with horses.

Author: Holly Robinson, Genre: Fiction, Total Page: 400, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9780698170650

From the acclaimed author of Beach Plum Island and The Wishing Hill... "No one does it better than Holly Robinson.”—Susan Straight, National Book Award Finalist and Author of Between Heaven and Here Catherine and Zoe are sisters, but even their mother, Eve, admits her daughters are nothing alike. Catherine is calm and responsible. Zoe is passionate and rebellious. Nobody is surprised when Zoe gets pregnant, drops out of college, and spirals into drug addiction. One night Catherine gets a call from Zoe’s terrified daughter, Willow, saying her mother has abandoned her in a bus station and disappeared. Eve blames herself, while Catherine, unable to have children, is delighted to raise Willow as her own. Now, five years later, Eve is grieving her husband’s death and making reluctant plans to sell the family’s beloved summer home on Prince Edward Island. But a series of unexpected revelations will upend the family and rock three generations of women. CONVERSATION GUIDE INCLUDED

Author: Julie Daines, Genre: Arranged marriage, Total Page: 202, Publisher: , ISBN: 1680472372

In 12th century Wales, Eleanor de Lacy is forced to become the wife of the infamous Welsh King Brach Goch. Resigned to a life of misery and receiving an ominous warning from the uneasy spirit of Brach's first wife that he is not to be trusted, Eleanor soon realizes all is not as it seems. Is Brach the monster she dreaded? Or is he a handsome and charming man whose gentle ways soon undermine her resolve to lock her heart?

Author: Julie Daines, Genre: Christian fiction, Total Page: 224, Publisher: , ISBN: 1524403326

When a shocking scandal involving her father spreads through London society, Elaine Cardinham and her parents are forced to retreat to their country home in Cornwall for refuge. But Havencross is no sanctuary for Elaine. She is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of her brother and the heartbreak she left in her wake all those years ago. It has been five long years since Gareth Kemp last saw Elaine when she rejected his marriage proposal. Her reappearance convinces him of one thing: he has never stopped loving her. To put his feelings for her aside, he focuses his attention on the dangerous smuggling plaguing the Cornish coast. As Elaine attempts to run from her past, she ventures ever closer to a dangerous truth and Gareth may be the only one who can save her from a deadly finish.

Author: Julie Daines, Genre: Blessing and cursing, Total Page: 225, Publisher: , ISBN: 1524407461

Lady Margaret Grey of Hartfell wants for nothing. The daughter of a knight, she has a loving family, wealth, and even a secret romance with the blacksmith's son. But all that is torn from her one fateful night when her home is attacked and her family killed. She is left with nothing but bitterness, an unwavering mistrust of men, and a strange and mysterious curse that allows her to feel the thoughts of anyone who touches her. Now, after six years away, Margaret is returning home for one reason: revenge. She hopes that by avenging her family's deaths, she will somehow be freed from her curse. But it won't be easy. The identities of the raiders are still unknown, she has little left to her name, and traveling alone in the Northumbrian hills during the border wars is dangerous. Matters are further complicated by handsome Angus Robson, a Scotsman whose charm threatens to distract her from her plans. But the raiders are closer than she knows, and Margaret soon realizes that what she believed to be a curse may be the key to finding those she seeks. One touch will reveal the truth.

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan, Genre: Juvenile Fiction, Total Page: 400, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9781101591352

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. “Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back "Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Author: Jacinta Howard, Genre: , Total Page: 306, Publisher: , ISBN: 1974289575

Devin Walker, drummer for The Prototype, has one priority: turning his alt-soul band into the superstar act it's destined to become. Singularly focused on his music, his creative passion is all-consuming-that is, until he crosses paths with his best friend's college roommate, Willow Harden.Willow was drawn to Devin from the moment she first saw him. And when Devin does, finally look Willow's way, she's easily seduced from her protective bubble into the lure of his fast-paced ambitions, though at times, she wonders if she can handle it.Unable to resist their potent chemistry, Devin and Willow free fall into a relationship that makes them question each other and doubt themselves. Devin knows he should probably leave her alone; Willow knows life for her might not be any good without him. Can they possibly make their love work? And if so, at what cost?

Author: Julia Hoban, Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Total Page: 336, Publisher: Penguin, ISBN: 9781101195772

Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen-year- old Willow's parents drank too much wine and asked her to drive them home. They never made it. Willow lost control of the car and her parents died in the accident. Now she has left behind her old home, friends, and school, and blocks the pain by secretly cutting herself. But when Willow meets Guy, a boy as sensitive and complicated as she is, she begins an intense, life-changing relationship that turns her world upside down. Told in an arresting, fresh voice, Willow is an unforgettable novel about one girl's struggle to cope with tragedy, and one boy's refusal to give up on her.